About AEF | Newsletter | Site Map | Legal | Advanced Search
Print Version

2017 Fact Sheet    2017 Application    2016 Participants    VPP Lunchtime Talks    2016 VPP Feedback    2015 Participants    2014 Participants   

2014 Participants

The VPP is a two-week fellowship for professors of advertising, marketing, communications and the liberal arts that exposes professors to the day-to-day operations of an advertising agency, a marketing or media company. Professors return to the classroom and teach their subject with more authority.  

Components of the program are an orientation followed by an eight-day internship.  During the internship, professors are asked to give a Lunchtime Talk on his/her area of expertise and how it relates to advertising.  

Thanks to the generosity of the companies listed below, 15 professors were hosted by ad agencies, a media agency, a marketing company and The Advertising Council, in Chicago, Los Angeles and New York City during June 2014.  Google in NYC gave the professors a glimpse into the world of social media. Since Career Services Administrators (CSA) are approached more often about careers in advertising, seven administrators participated in NYC orientations.

New York City Participants at R/GA orientation
AEF's VPP 2014
Front row (left to right): Nicholas Boston, Bryan Wang, Cathy Bullock, Sharon Hudson (AEF), Rachel Tannenbaum, Sara Parrish (AEF), Andrea Culp, Allie-Ryan Butler, Heather Wixson, Keri Lyn Willis, Byung Lee
Back row (left to right): Joseph Clark, Benny Belvin, Simon Blanchard, Kimberly Joy Dixon, Carol Sharick, Kate Pounders, Zahr Said, Katherine Sredl, Clayton Critcher


Chicago Participants Los Angeles Participant
Scott Rick VPP
Sven Tuzovic VPP
Lisa Cavanaugh VPP
Scott Rick Sven Tuzovic Lisa Cavanaugh


VPPs in the Press:

See what Cathy Bullock had to say about her VPP experience >>

2014 Program Participants

Professor School Department Host
Scott Rick Univ. of Michigan Marketing Ogilvy & Mather
Sven Tuzovic Pacific Lutheran Univ. Business Leo Burnett
Los Angeles      
Lisa Cavanaugh Univ. of Southern Calif. Marketing Deutsch Inc.
New York City      
Simon Blanchard Georgetown Univ. Marketing Young & Rubicam
Nicholas Boston CUNY-Lehman College Journalism, Comm. & Theater Publicis Kaplan Thaler
Cathy Bullock Utah State Univ. Journalism & Communications The Ad Council/ Saatchi & Saatchi
Allie-Ryan Butler Hampton Univ. Journalism & Communications Deutsch Inc.
Amy Jo Coffey Univ. of Florida Telecommunication Starcom Mediavest /Tapestry
Joseph Clark Franklin & Marshall Coll. American Studies JWT
Clayton Critcher Univ. of Calif., Berkeley Marketing Ogilvy & Mather
Byung Lee Elon Univ. Communications McCann/UM
Kate Pounders Univ. of Texas, Austin Advertising & PR R/GA
Zahr Said Univ. of Washington Law School Law IBM
Katherine Sredl Univ. of Notre Dame Marketing DDB
Bryan Wang Univ. of Nebraska, Lincoln Journalism & Communications Grey
Career Services Administrators    
Benny Belvin Harvard Univ.    
Andrea Culp Colorado College    
Kimberly Joy Dixon Stony Brook Univ.    
Carol Sharick Amherst College    
Rachel Tannenbaum Barnard College    
Keri Lyn Willis Union College    
Heather Van Ness Wixson Hamilton College    




Copyright © 2014 AEF. All rights reserved.